Canada’s TJ Schmaltz Named President of NAHRMA

ALEXANDRIA, Va., July 21, 2022 — Terrence (TJ) Schmaltz was elected president of the North American Human Resource Management Association (NAHRMA), the representative body for HR management in North America. He will serve a one-year term.

Schmaltz succeeds Johnny C. Taylor, Jr., president and CEO of SHRM (the Society for Human Resource Management), who completed his two-year term during the NAHRMA meeting held last month at the SHRM Annual Conference & Expo in New Orleans. Taylor will assume the role of immediate past president.

“NAHRMA will continue to lead in policy discussions related to the future of work and solutions to overcome immigration barriers in North America—all while elevating the HR profession in North America and beyond,” said Schmaltz. “NAHRMA is looking forward to expanding into new territories to ensure that HR professionals throughout the Americas are equipped to continue rising to the challenges of today and tomorrow.”

Schmaltz is the chief people and legal officer at Prospera Credit Union in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Also in New Orleans, Mauricio Reynoso of Mexico was elected NAHRMA secretary/treasurer and Susan J. Ryan of Canada was named a delegate.

Continuing NAHRMA delegates for 2022-24 include:

  • Anthony Ariganello, Canada
  • Emily M. Dickens, USA
  • Alex Alonso, USA
  • Eduardo de la Garza, Mexico
  • Jorge Jauregui Morales, Mexico

SHRM serves as NAHRMA's permanent secretariat.

From left to right: Anthony Ariganello (Canada); Celine Forget (Canada Secretariat); Terrence (TJ) Schmaltz (Canada); Emily M. Dickens (USA); Johnny C. Taylor, Jr., (USA); Susan J. Ryan (Canada); Jorge Jauregui Morales (Mexico); Chenai R. Kirkpatrick (USA Secretariat); and Gerardo Valdes (Mexico)